• CD
  • Date : 22.02.2013
  • Package : CD Digipack
  • Running Time CD : 57:33

Chris Farlowe – As Time Goes By

Towards the end of 1994 Chris Farlowe spoke to me about his desire to record an album featuring some of the jazz standards he had grown up with. We had previously worked on one album together. ‘Waiting in the Wings’ and toured with a band that featured the late, great, Pat Crumly on saxophone. I approached Pat with the idea because he had his own jazz quartet featuring John Pearce on piano, Simon Woolf on bass and Simon Morton on drums. Chris spoke to his long time friend Jon Hiseman who agreed to let us record in his home studio.

Together with Pat and myself Chris short-listed the titles to be recorded and John Pearce was set the task of writing the arrangements. Then in February 1995 we arrived at Temple Music to commence recording with Jon Hiseman at the helm. Jon wouldn’t accept that he was the producer but his involvement was invaluable, as was that of engineer John Canham.
Pat also brought in Mark Nightingale on trombone and Steve Simpson, also from the Farlowe band, to play guitar. Unfortunately Steve’s style of playing didn’t suite feel of the album so the call went out to Clem Clempson who came in at the eleventh hour to play the guitar parts faultlessly.
The album was released in 1995; this new release features an extra track not on the original ‘Remind Me’. I can’t remember why we omitted it at the time, it was featured on the ‘Rock n Roll Soldier’ compilation from 2004, but that is also long deleted.
Over the years Chris and I have talked about doing a ‘As Time Goes By 2’ and maybe a series of concerts but sadly, so far, this hasn’t happened, perhaps it’s time it did. – (Kris Gray)
Extraordinary, rather untypical album of the british bluessinger, peppered with unforgettable Jazz Classics like ‘These Foolish Things’, ’As Time Goes By’, ‘Sunday Kind Of Love’, ‘You Don’t Know Me’ and many more.




1. Bewitched
2. The Glow
3. Sunday Kind Of Love
4. As Time Goes By
5. Drinking Again
6. These Foolish Things
7. At Last
8. Blues As Blues Can Get
9. You Don’t Know Me
10. Trust In Me
11. I Thought Of You
12. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely
13. Untitled Track

14. Remind Me