Les McCann

Pump It Up (ESC Records)

  • CD digipack
  • Date : 04.03.2002
  • Package : CD digipack
  • Running Time CD : 44:03
  • Vinyl
  • Date : 21.06.2004
  • Package : LP
  • Running Time : 44:03
  • Details : 180 gr.

Les McCann – Pump It Up

Les McCann has always revealed a decided tendency toward the funky side of things in his playing and singing, going back to his earliest gospel-tinged soul-jazz recordings for the Pacific Jazz label from 1960-1964, the slamming “Pump It Up” finds him knee-deep in the funk. Under the direction of producer-composer Alan Abrahams, McCann is surrounded by a cast of young funkateers, including bassists Marcus Miller and Abraham Laboriel, drummer John Robinson, funky rhythm guitar aces Dean Brown and Paul Jackson, Jr., keyboardist Ricky Peterson and his guitar-playing brother Paul, saxophonists Bill Evans and Keith Anderson, all of whom bring something special to the table. And Les delivers with funky authority, swaggering and bragging his way through the good-time vehicles in typically bawdy fashion. This CD is recommended for Les McCann fans and those whose musical interests expand to include the world of funky Rhythm and Blues!



  1. Pump It Up 04:50
  2. Buckshot And Lefonque 05:17
  3. So What 05:48
  4. You Just Can't Smile It Away 04:57
  5. Tryin' To Make It Real 06:18
  6. The Truth 06:09
  7. Let It Ride (The Train) 04:43
  8. Funk It (Let The Music Play) 05:06
  9. I Can't Stand It - Reprise 00:55


Total:      44:03