• CD
  • Date : 26.08.2022
  • Package : CD Digipack
  • Running Time CD : 55:29

Andreas Vollenweider – Kryptos

Swiss harpist Andreas Vollenweider continues his exploration of world fusion on this ambitious, genre-blending release. In addition to the usual presence of Vollenweider’s electrified harp, on which he manages to combine the instrument’s lush, classical sound with unusual rhythmic effects and uncharacteristic tones, “Kryptos” boasts a range of other instruments, including flutes, synthesizer, human choruses, and a variety of percussion.


Stylistically Vollenweider draws on African influences, Greek folk songs, Celtic airs, contemporary Western classical, and dramatic film music. Vollenweider also has a soft spot for mythological themes, as on “Hermes’ Wedding” and “Circulus Finalis”, which recounts the travels of a hero in musical terms. Vollenweider is clearly building on his successful albums of the early 1980s with “Kryptos”, expanding the reach of his music to encompass the globe.



  1. Domus Cordis 04:12
    • Father’s Tree
    • The Painted Gate
  2. Morgana Palace 03:52
  3. Hermes’ Wedding 03:02
  4. Under the Trees of Hope 04:08
  5. Passionata 05:53
  6. Wanja the Wanderer 06:42
  7. Bhambororo! 01:43
  8. Forest Folks 05:06
  9. Quendel and Rhomas 04:16
  10. Trigon 07:07
    • East of Time
    • Missa Obscura
    • South of Time
  11. May Green be the Grass... 06:17
  12. Circulus Finalis 03:11
    • Return of the Heroes
    • The Heroes’ Telling

total: 55:29 min