Jim Beard

Show Of Hands (Moosicus)

  • CD
  • Date : 06.09.2013
  • Package : CD Digipack
  • Running Time CD : 77:49

Jim Beard – Show Of Hands


As can be expected from Jim, this album does not pidgeonhole itself into one bag. There are eight brand new compositions. Two full length songs and six Haikus (very short pieces). He also does piano versions of a few of his compositions previously released on other CDs such as “The Gentleman and Hizcaine” (Michael Brecker “Don’t Try This at Home”) and “Song of the Sun” (Jim Beard’s solo debut). There is also an extremely popular 18th century society piece, a piece written to support a Shakespeare poem, a Wayne Shorter classic (“Face on the Barroom Floor”) and a few standards.

Regarding the ballads he recorded Jim says: “I felt it was important to retain the clarity and beauty of the ballads I chose. So many jazz artists who choose to cover standards also choose to twist and distort them to the point where they become unrecognizable. If you’re going to do that, why not just write a new piece of music?” When asked how the feeling of making this album resembles or differs from his other studio outings he replies; “I’ve been a part of so many projects where groove and steady tempo were very high up on the agenda. Now, I love a great groove as much as the next guy but it felt very liberating to have the freedom to approach a song with or without that aspect. It is also fairly intimidating to play in such a naked and exposed way. Every little nuance seems magnified somehow and you don’t have that safety net of a group of musicians.”



  1. Clarion Haiku 00:21
  2. To Anacreon In Heaven 01:57
  3. Old Folks 07:09
  4. Argentine 08:40
  5. Arto Haiku 00:34
  6. Face On The Barroom Floor 07:34
  7. The Gentleman And Hizcaine 03:30
  8. Duo Haiku 00:41
  9. Woody´n You 03:07
  10. It Was A Lover And His Lass 01:42
  11. My One And Only Love 04:41
  12. Country Haiku 00:55
  13. Saint Cloud 06:47
  14. But Beautiful 04:27
  15. Calinda Haiku 00:41
  16. Song Of The Sun 08:31
  17. Solo Haiku 00:09
  18. Giphini´s Song 03:52
  19. Honeysuckle Rose 02:10
  20. Clarion Haiku 00:21

Total: 77:49