Randy Brecker

Hangin' In The City (ESC Records)

  • CD
  • Date : 24.04.2020
  • Package : CD Digipack
  • Running Time CD : 62:09

Randy Brecker – Hangin’ In The City

A true stylist who has performed with a who’s who of jazz, pop and jazz-fusion artists, trumpeter Randy Brecker’s latest solo effort includes his equally renowned brother, saxophonist Michael Brecker and vibraphonist Joe Locke along with perennial studio musicians; guitarist Hiram Bullock, bassist Will Lee and others. Here, Brecker injects a bit of whimsy into a set consisting of funk-groove rhythms, hip-hop, tight horn charts, synths, drum programming and everything and anything producer George Whitty decided to utilize for this outing. As funny as the steamy funker “Then I Came to My Senses” and prickly, dark, atmospheric title track can be, there’s a greater draw in some of the album’s non-Randroid highlights, like “Wayne Out,” the Shorter-inspired funky-fusion ride. “I Talk to the Trees” swings lyrically, with Brecker’s awe-struck, long-lined melody playing against bustling bass in a Tangerine Dream-like echo chamber of wraparound effects. “Pastoral (To Jaco)” is another highlight: a nostalgic tribute with wit, as well as reverence, in its shining arrangement.


  1. Overture 5:11
  2. Wayne Out 4:28
  3. Hangin' in The City 5:46
  4. I Talk to the Trees 7:19
  5. Down For The Count 4:41
  6. Pastoral (To Jaco) 7:11
  7. Then I Came 2 My Senses 5:27
  8. Seattle 5:24
  9. Never Tell Her U Love Her 5:00
  10. I Been Through This Before 5:56
  11. One Thing Led To Another 5:46

Total: 62:09