• 2CD
  • Date : 29.09.2023
  • Package : CD Jewel Case
  • Running Time CD 1 : 53:15
  • Running Time CD 2 : 48:12

Omar & The Howlers – Magic Man

During one of his numerous tours through Europe, Omar performed with the Howlers on February 2, 1989 at the club “Moments” in Bremen (Germany). Omar’s band at that time was John Inmon (guitar), Bruce Jones (bass), and Gene Brandon (drums).

Born in McComb, Mississippi, USA, he began making music at the age of 12, still under his real name of Kent Dykes. The original Howlers were formed in 1973 in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA. In 1976, they decided to move to Austin, Texas, USA, where clubs such as the “Soap Creek Saloon,” the “Broken Spoke,” the “Armadillo World Headquarters” and “Antone’s” had created a haven for “renegade” music. With a new lineup, Dykes created a band capable of the kind of rough, rowdy blues that made Howlin’ Wolf and Hound Dog Taylor legends. Omar’s first release was “Big Leg Beat” in 1980, which would be followed by over 20 more. During countless tours through the USA and Europe, he created a loyal fan base, especially in Germany and Scandinavia, which always ensured sold-out concerts. His last performance was in 2017, and since then he has devoted himself to writing and has already released two works in which he reflects on his life and work as a “bluesman”.



CD 1:

  1. Wall Of Pride 03:43
  2. Don`t Lead Me On 04:10
  3. Loud Mouth Woman 04:18
  4. Down In Mississippi 05:14
  5. Border Girl 03:36
  6. Dancing In The Canebreak 04:30
  7. Modern Man 02:31
  8. Omar`s Shuffle 05:24
  9. East Side Blues 05:50
  10. Hoy! Hoy! Hoy! 03:04
  11. Too Much 03:50
  12. Dime Store Hoo Doo 04:03
  13. Hide Away 03:02

CD1 Total: 53:15 min.

CD 2:

  1. Green River 05:54
  2. Funky Time 04:28
  3. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place 03:41
  4. Bad Seed 03:50
  5. Rattle Snake Shake 04:35
  6. Hard Times In The Land Of Plenty 06:09
  7. Magic Man 11:00
  8. Rock `n´ Roll Ball 08:35

CD2 Total: 48:12 min.

CD1+CD2 Total: 101:27 min.