• CD
  • Date : 25.08.2023
  • Package : CD Jewel Case
  • Running Time CD : 60:26

Duke Robillard first heard of Alberto Marsico when Sax Gordon Beadle gave him a copy of his CD called “In The Wee Wee Hours” on the Delmark label a few years back. Duke was very impressed with the whole sound and vibe of the CD and especially the organ accompaniment, which showed incredible musical depth and command of the Hammond organ. A few years later Duke’s band was playing a concert in Brasov, Romania, and on the show was a band called Soundsville, who were very impressive. Their organist was very well versed in jazz and blues and Duke thought he sounded familiar. Before soundcheck was over they were talking and jamming some classic jazz tunes. Lo and behold, it was the organist Sax Gordon had told him about that he recorded with in Italy! Duke: “It truly is a small world when you are talking about music.”

Fast forward a few years, Duke Robillard was contacted about playing a short tour with Sugar Ray Norcia, Mudcat Ward and Mark Teixeira, then doing a series of workshops in Castagnole Piemonte, Italy, after a musically satisfying blues tour. The workshops they were to play were run by Alberto Marsico. It was during these workshops, organized by Alberto Marsico, that an exciting opportunity unfolded. Alberto suggested that, during their one free day, they record a classic jazz organ trio album with Duke, Mark and him.

It sounded like a great opportunity to play some relaxed swingin’ jazz of the kind these three guys always loved. Being a spirit of the moment thing, they quickly came up with a list of tunes that would be fun and they could arrange on the spot. They had a short rehearsal to hone a few ideas and the next morning they were in the studio and completed the entire album live in about four hours! As soon as they started playing it was even more obvious than it was at the brief rehearsal, that this was a trio that was meant to happen. All three love the bluesy groove of all the classic organists of the 50s and 60s, which made it incredibly fun and easy to play together. Thanks to the great recording expertise of Carlo Miori, The Organ Trio achieved a fabulous sound quality and they all were proud of this totally live recording. Duke Robillard: “Alberto, Mark and I hope you enjoy our efforts in giving you a completely live swingin’ jazz album of fun tunes demonstrating what can happen when you put three like-minded musicians together in the studio for a few hours. Enjoy!”


  1. 'Deed I Do 06:48
  2. Rhythm Willie 06:10
  3. Body and Fender Man 05:56
  4. A Smooth One 06:31
  5. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You? 05:51
  6. Red Top 07:07
  7. Jitterbug Waltz 04:40
  8. Jumpin’at the Woodside 06:48
  9. Exactly Like You 05:17
  10. Sweet Georgia Brown 05:18

total:                                                       60:26 Min.